Reading Lately?

Ahhhhh. Books.

Ever more than I need writing in my life, I need READING.

I plan to start posting regular reading updates. Some months are slower than others, but I finish at least one book a month, sometimes up to four, so I might as well share them with the world wide web, right? It used to be more before I had a baby *sigh*. BUT now every book I read is for pleasure. I NEVER used to quit reading a book I hated, but these days I don’t have the time. If I dislike something or it’s too boring, buh-bye! And maybe it’ll go back on my ever growing to-be-read list. Maybe not. That said, I’ve been spreading my net, trying out more nonfiction genres than I tend to pick up.

From dabbling in some parenting books, two recent favorites are No Drama, Discipline by Daniel J. Siegel M.D. and Tina Payne Bryson PH.D. and French Kids Eat Everything by Karen Le Billon.

A blog I have followed and loved for years is MMD, the Modern Mrs. Darcy! Anne Bogel always has AMAZING recommendations, and if you’re a fan of the blog, I’m sure you’ve heard her podcast, What Should I Read Next? If not, check it out!

Besides my idol’s (Anne) show and blog recs, I also frequent my public library, scan my Goodreads app friends, or ask my real life friends what they’re reading.

So, without further ado here’s what I read last and what I’m reading now.

Last few weeks:

A Man Called Ove

Britt-Marie Was Here

and Bear Town (all three by the talented Fredrik Backman)

I rarely get stuck on an author and devour their books, but Fredrik Backman had me at Ove. Dear, sweet, grumpy Ove. I laughed, I cried, I shared each chapter with my kind husband as he nodded with enthusiasm. I watched the movie, but needed more. Britt-Marie was heartwarming and gut-wrenching in a different way. It took me a while to warm up to her. The story dragged at parts and then BANG! A rush of events climax and you won’t be able to put this one down until it’s finished. Backman’s characters are deeply developed and you feel like you know them from the first few chapters! Bear Town is by far his masterpiece. This was completely different from his two single-character driven books. It’s multi-layered with many different leading characters who develop more slowly as you uncover issues of nationality, class, homosexuality, gender roles, and most painfully rape.

In the Name of Jesus by Henri Nouwen

This is a book for anyone in the Christian faith looking for advice on church community, ministry, and leadership/discipleship. Short and packed with wisdom, this is one you’ll continually come back to for guidance, discussion, and your prayer life.

Reading This Week:

No-Drama Discipline by Daniel J. Siegel M.D. and Tina Payne Bryson PH.D.

This recommendation came from a Youtuber I follow, The Parenting Junkie. I really like her!

From Brokenness to Community by Jean Vanier

Looking forward to reading this speech by Vanier about living in the L’Arch communities he founded (first in France and then all around the world!) to a room full of Harvard students! I read it once many years ago, and can’t seem to remember much. But that’s because I was a book-soul-sucking college student at the time.

Well, that’s all for now. Hopefully I’ll get around to doing this once a month or so… *insert facepalm emoji*

Happy Reading!

 

Leave a Reply

