Recent Flix: Troche Netflix Recommendations

Ok friends,

the last time I shared our recent favorites was about eight months ago! Maybe more. I thought I’d share a few of the shows we’ve been addicted to lately, and why.

1. Parenthood

An oldie, I know! But even though I’m late on the Parenthood binge-watching game, I  don’t understand why I haven’t heard rave reviews! Maybe I missed them, but this show is binge-worthy and full of some awesome conversation starters. It gets you thinking. At least for me, it bring up issues of race, class, gender, and identity. There are parenting issues, certainly, but also many complex life issues. Some of the problems presented are on being a parent/sibling/family member to a special needs child, on dating or having a child interracially, adoption (closed or open?!), on job loss, how criminal records affect life, homelessness, alcoholism, other forms of addiction (ahem, Crosby?) etc., etc. Don’t get me wrong, I think this show dabbles in fantasyland, too. It ain’t perfect and is FULL of classic soap opera scenarios. But I’m enjoying the mix of brain-candy drama, and real life choices the characters have to make.

2. Cooked

We devoured this show! Similar to one of Rich and I’s top favorite shows of all time, Chef’s Table (if you haven’t had a taste of this show, stop reading immediately and go find an episode! Feast your eyes!), Cooked is a documentary series focused on food (duh). It’s separated into four episodes themed for the four elements: Earth, Air, Fire, and Water. Each is breathtakingly beautiful and provides great food for thought! Hurray! Plenty of food cliches thrown into this review… Anyway, I love shows that make you think. Especially that make you evaluate the way you live, your choices, etc.

3. Terrace House

You guys. This. I can’t explain our love for Terrace House. Maybe Rich and I are subconsciously Japanese teenagers, because I don’t know how or why we stumbled upon this show. We are addicts! It’s a Japanese reality show, and since we’ve been sharing a small studio apartment with our baby boy, Theo, we have had to watch most shows and movies silently with subtitles. It has sort of led us into some foreign films and docs, but this show is brain-candy for sure. There isn’t much depth, but there are hilarious commentators. And we want to hang out with them! Sometimes we can’t keep names straight, but we find ourselves intrigued by the cultural differences between Japan and the USA. Now a long trip to Japan has been added to our bucket list.

4. The Crown

For a man who doesn’t enjoy period-piece movies, Rich has been loving this show just as much as I have! The episodes are long, occasionally slow, but can be intense. They deal with the heavy weight of obligation to family and country. We tend to watch one episode every few days. Unless there’s a massive cliff-hanger. We only have about two left! Historical dramatization, incredible acting, British accents, gorgeous costumes, palaces, and settings. What more could you ask for?

That’s all for now!

I’ll be posting Theo’s birth story soon. It’s been difficult to write, but I think I’m at the point where I just need to post it! Loving the memories that are coming up this week as I plan his first birthday celebration.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

