Morning Reflections

Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles. And let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us- Hebrews 12:1

Every day I need to be reminded of these words, but especially today. Anxiety is building. Next week begins the race marked out before ME and millions of other students. It’s FINALS (Christ, preserve us), every students’ dread. The weeks at the end of semester in which we fight to preserve our sanity, work crazy hours, and consume ungodly amounts of processed foods and caffeine (as if college students- no wait Americans– don’t already do this). All the procrastinating comes to an end and we regret every minute of it, yet wish we could just wait one more day to start that essay… Well, I realize this semester I have one final project I am actually excited (yeah, I know, I’m a weirdo) about beginning. But only one, mind you. The other three are chores, and I am trying, trying, trying to keep going on them, or at least find the motivation to begin studying for the exam portions.

I am enjoying today, because Tuesdays this semester have been full-on homework days (because I have classes in the evening). This means I usually have a leisurely morning, clean the room, take care of non-scholarly business (like blogging) and then whip myself into shape to work on the week’s worth of projects. It’s relaxing having a room to myself, nice music, coffee, etc. Today I have written down all that is left for the semester and it made me feel good and accomplished, and so I blog. Yet, I need to take time out to have with God, to pray and think and be inspired. I’ve learned the last few months I don’t get much done when I don’t centre myself in Him, fist. That’s where the Hebrews verse came in for me today. I needed some inspiration, even after the amazing time reflecting over Easter on Christ’s resurrection this past weekend. I am such an Israelite. I stray often into old habits and become blanketed in the mundanities of daily living. Therefore, as we all do, I need to look at God every day and make the continual commitment to follow Him.So, this morning I re-dedicate myself to my God, my husband Richard, and my school work. And face the day, running the race marked out before me! I hope you all can do the same…

Leave a Reply

